Making It: Jeremy Ley’s tips on becoming a successful illustrator . PART 1 .

Graffiti Tribe

For aspiring illustrators, getting ahead is hard work. Competition is steep and the appetite for stylised illustrative work can be sporadic. Establishing a unique brand that can appeal to a mass commercial market, whilst attracting the eyes of advertising agencies is not easy.

To help me in figuring my, “where to from here” plan, I sat down to ask established illustrator, Jeremy Ley, what his thoughts were on the whole matter…

This Charming Man This Charming Man

How did you get into illustration?

I’ve been working for nine years now in illustration.

It was actually after university I learnt how to draw but before then I did life-drawing classes and just doodled in my sketchbook.

At university, I studied creative advertising and after that I ended up going into an advertising agency for about two months. I then realised that I didn’t want to do it.

I spent the next ten months at home…

View original post 1,917 more words

About bellawoodfield

Illustrator, Author and designer
This entry was posted in children's books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

